Post Office Holidays

On days when the federal government isn't doing business, neither is the post office. The U.S. Postal Service follows the same holiday schedule as federal offices.

In 2016, mail won't be delivered on Sundays, nor the following dates: Jan. 1, Jan. 18, Feb. 15, May 30, July 4, Sept. 5, Oct. 10, Nov. 11, Nov. 24, Dec. 26.

Please keep in mind that occasionally, particularly near holidays, your local post office may be open, but closes earlier in the day than usual. As Christmas falls on a Sunday in 2016, postal workers will not be working on Monday the 26th.

Here's a complete list of federal holidays and the corresponding dates in 2016 when post offices will be closed:

  • Friday, December 25, 2015- Christmas Day
  • Friday, January 01, 2016- New Year's Day
  • Monday, January 18, 2016- Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday
  • Monday, February 15, 2016- Washington's Birthday (President's Day)
  • Monday, May 30, 2016- Memorial Day
  • Monday, July 04, 2016- Independence Day
  • Monday, September 05, 2016- Labor Day
  • Monday, October 10, 2016- Columbus Day
  • Friday, November 11, 2016- Veterans Day
  • Thursday, November 24, 2016- Thanksgiving Day
  • Monday, December 26, 2016- Christmas Day (postal Holiday)

Are USPS post offices open today? This little web site will tell you whether the post office is closed or open today and tomorrow.